Colonial Assemblies

« The Lakou

By the time 1789 came, Saint-Domingue was divided into three provinces, each of which had its colonial assembly. These assemblies were formed by white planters, lawyers, and merchants who were responding to the democratic upheavals in France.

Eventually, these assemblies became radicalized and the compromise between planters and merchants brokered in France immediately collapsed in the face of intransigent colonial whites, which later would lead to violence. No honor among theives goes the saying: the white society of Saint-Domingue fragmented to a point that no unity was ever feasible.

« Back to the KILTI NOU Index